County Service Area 12

County Service Area 12 (Mission Canyon Sewer District) provides wastewater collection to the Mission Canyon area. The system consists of approximately 12 miles of pipeline and two lift stations. The sewer system is regulated by the California State Water Resources Control Board. Wastewater is further collected, treated, and disposed of by the City of Santa Barbara at the El Estero wastewater treatment plant pursuant to a 2015 Joint Powers Agreement.  The user fee for fiscal year (FY) 2021-22 (July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2022) is $316.82 per year for maintenance.  A user fee is levied each fiscal year to fund maintenance.  The fee is a one-time fee paid for the connection of new development and is $5,633 per residential unit for FY 2021-22. The City of Santa Barbara issues a separate bill to these customers for water and sewer services.

Sewer System Management Plan

For more information, please call (805) 803-8755.