Lompoc Planning Area


Click here to join our mailing list!

Dan Klemann, Deputy Director, Long Range Planning

lompoc CP

The unincorporated urban areas of the Lompoc Valley consist of three distinct communities: Vandenberg Village, Mission Hills, and Mesa Oaks. Construction of Vandenberg Village and Mission Hills occurred in the late 1950s/early 1960s to provide housing for military personnel and employees at the rapidly expanding nearby Vandenberg Air Force Base. The community of Mesa Oaks consists of a series of subdivisions constructed primarily in the 1980s that have gradually merged with scattered older rural homes built along Rucker Road. The County's Comprehensive General Plan outlines general policies that apply to the Lompoc Area. In 1999, the Board of Supervisors adopted interpretive guidelines that address specific issues of the Lompoc Valley.

Planning Documents

Lompoc Area Interpretive Guidelines