Legislative Program

The Legislative Program Committee ("Committee") was established in September 1991, by the Board of Supervisors. The Committee considers and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on State and Federal legislation.

The Committee is comprised of five members. Two are members of the Board of Supervisors, and are appointed annually by the Board Chair. The remaining three members are the County Executive Officer, County Counsel, and Auditor-Controller.

Membership of the 2019 Committee is as follows:

  • Joan Hartmann - Third District Supervisor
  • Das Williams- First District Supervisor
  • Mona Miyasato - County Executive Officer
  • Michael Ghizzoni - County Counsel
  • Betsy Schaffer - Auditor - Controller

The County Executive Office and County Counsel provides staff support to the Committee.

If you have any questions regarding the Legislative Program Committee meetings, please contact Terri Nisich, Assistant CEO at tmaus@countyofsb.org or at (805) 568-3412.

External Resources

2019 Legislative Calendar

The Legislative Program Committee meetings will be held on the 1st Monday of each month from 10:30AM to Noon (*unless otherwise noted). All meetings are held in the Board of Supervisors Conference Room, located at the County Administration Building, 105 E. Anapamu Street, 4th Floor, Santa Barbara.  All meetings are open to the public.

  • January 14
  •  February 4
  •  March 4
  •  April 1
  •  May 6
  •  June 3
  •  July 1
  •  *August - No meeting - summer recess
  •  *September 9 (2nd Monday due to Labor Day)
  •  October 7
  •  November 4 - Canceled
  •  December 2 - Canceled

Please note, the Committee may call additional meetings or may cancel meetings as necessary. Committee staff will advise you of any change in this schedule.

This calendar is also available as a PDF document.

Legislative Program Documents