PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT - DEVELOPMENT REVIEW DIVISION

The Development Review Division reviews private development projects for consistency with State and local planning laws, ordinances, and the comprehensive plan policies. The division also performs environmental review pursuant to State and local CEQA guidelines for all applicable projects. 

This division has office locations in Santa Barbara and Santa Maria.


Click here to access the Development Codes. 


For information regarding the status of your current application, click here.


To locate digitized historic files for your property, click here.


Development Review Division projects, click here.


Staff Contact Information

Contact

Development Review Division  
   
Contact our Zoning Counter Phone Contact 
South County Counter (Santa Barbara office) (805) 568-2090
North County Counter (Santa Maria office) (805) 934-6251
   
Name  Email Contact 
Jeffrey Wilson, Division Deputy Director jewilson@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
   
Counter Operations - North and South  
Name Email Contact 
Joe Dargel, Division Supervisor jdargel@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Alejandro Jimenez, Planner ajimenez@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Kimberley McCarthy, Planner  kheaton@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Kim Probert, Planner kprober@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Mark Walter, Planner mwalter@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
   
Permitting - North  
Name  Email Contact 
John Shoals, Division Supervisor jshoals@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Gwendolyn Beyeler, Planner gbeyeler@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Dana Eady, Planner  dcarmich@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Shannon Reese, Planner
sreese@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Melanie Jackson, Planner mjackson@co.santa-barbara.ca.us

 
   
Permitting - South  
Alex Tuttle, Division Supervisor atuttle@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Nicole Lieu, Planner nmashore@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Travis Lee, Planner  trlee@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Tess Harris, Planner  tharris@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Nereyda (Rey) Harmon, Planner  nharmon@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Ciara Ristig, Planner  cristig@countyofsb.org 
Sean Stewart, Planner  sestewart@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Petra Leyva, Division Supervisor petra@co.santa-barbara.ca.us 
Jessica Madamba, Planner jmadamba@co.santa-barbara.ca.us
Monica Esparza, Planner mesparza@co.santa-barbara.ca.us

Sarah Marshall, Planner

smarshall@co.santa-barbara.ca.us