logo

County
Executive Office

The Santa Barbara County 
Office of Emergency Management

The Santa Barbara County Office of Emergency Management (SBCOEM) is a division within the County Executive Office and is responsible for emergency planning and coordination of the Santa Barbara Operational Area.

Office of Emergency Management
 

 CURRENT ACTIVATION LEVEL (highlighted in yellow):

STATE OF EMERGENCY - DROUGHT

Activation Levels WaterWiseSB

READY Santa Barbara:


  Radio Ready English

Radio Ready Information
English & Spanish

Twitter Nixle
WebEOC Login

Press Releases:


Additional Information, Documents and Contact Information

All documents are in Adobe PDF format unless otherwise noted

Santa Barbara County Emergency Management Plan

Emergency Management Plan Draft Cover

PRESS RELEASE (English)
PRESS RELEASE (Spanish)

Is your home or office building susceptible to damage from earthquakes, wildfires, or floods? Do you want to prevent future damage from these and other natural hazards? Your participation makes our community more resistant to natural hazards.The Santa Barbara County Office of Emergency Management has revised the County Emergency Management Plan and thanks the community for their input.

The comment period ended September 11, 2013.

This Plan identifies many hazards (both natural and man-made) throughout Santa Barbara County, and provides the actions the County takes to prepare, respond, and recover from an emergency or disaster. The Plan is developed to meet Federal and State requirements for emergency plans, enabling the County and cities to be eligible for Federal grant funds.

Diablo Canyon Power Plant Brochure


Earthquake Preparedness (Updated 4/9/2012)


Tsunami Awareness (Updated 3/1/2012)


SBC OEM Plan Updates


2011 Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan (Updated March 14, 2012)


Santa Barbara County Operational Area: 


On a day-to-day basis, OEM is responsible for emergency planning and coordination among the Santa Barbara Operational Area entities which include:
  • Cities: Buellton, Carpinteria, Goleta, Guadalupe, Lompoc, Santa Barbara, Santa Maria, Solvang
  • Special Districts: Air Pollution Control District, Fire Districts, Sanitary Districts, School Districts, Vector Control Districts, and Water Districts
  • Volunteer Organizations:  American Red Cross, Amateur Radio Emergency Services (ARES), Equine Evacuation, and Montecito Emergency Response & Recovery Action Group (MERRAG), Volunteer Organizations Active in Disasters (VOAD)
  • Industry Groups: CAER-Community Awareness and Emergency Response, Petroleum industry mutual aid group, SBIA-Santa Barbara Industrial Association.
  • Tri-County Coordination: Santa Barbara County OEM also coordinates with adjoining offices of emergency services in Ventura and San Luis Obispo Counties. The Tri-County Coordinators meet and discuss regional preparedness several times throughout the year.

SBC OEM Responsibilities:

  1. Maintain the Santa Barbara County Operational Area Multi-Hazard Functional Plan
  2. Maintain the County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) in a state of operational readiness
  3. Maintain a trained cadre of EOC team members
  4. Provide ongoing leadership and coordinate disaster plans and exercises with the eight cities throughout the County
  5. Assist County departments with emergency plans to address how they will perform during disasters
  6. Assist County departments facility emergency plans for occupied County facilities
  7. Provide ongoing training for County department emergency coordinators
  8. Participate in public information campaigns for all hazards through the Emergency Survival Program (ESP), public venues, and various media presentations

Contact The Santa Barbara County Office of Emergency Management

4408 Cathedral Oaks Road, Santa Barbara, CA 93110
24/7 Main Line: 805-681-5526 | 805-681-5592 - fax | Duty Officer Email: oem@sbcoem.org

Director of Emergency Management
Ryan Rockabrand, CEM | (805) 681-5526 | rrockabrand@sbcoem.org

Deputy Director
Robert Troy | (805) 681-5508 | rtroy@sbcoem.org

Department Business Specialist
Nick Szamet | (805) 696-1191 | nszamet@sbcoem.org

Emergency Manager
Richard Abrams, CEM | (805) 681-5567 | rabrams@sbcoem.org

Emergency Manager
Joe Guzzardi, CEM | (805) 346-7319 | jguzzardi@sbcoem.org

Emergency Manager
Elsa Arndt, CEM | (805) 681-5524 | earndt@sbcoem.org

Emergency Services Planner
Anthony Giovanacci | (805) 696-1192 | agiovanacci@sbcoem.org

Emergency Services Planner
Tylor Headrick |  (805) 681-5526 | theadrick@sbcoem.org

Emergency Management Intern
Dane Larson |  (805) 681-5526 | dlarson@sbcoem.org


If you would like to inquire about hosting meetings at the EOC please complete this form and submit via email or fax.