Weights & Measures Service Fees


Weights & Measures Device, Point of Sale System, Packer Registration, and California Department of Food and Agriculture administrative fees

  1. The annual registration fee for a business that uses a commercial weighing or measuring device or devices shall be pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 12240 and shall consist of a business location fee, a device fee, and a Department of Food and Agriculture administrative fee as authorized by Business and Professions Code section 12241 and set forth in 4 CCR §4075. The business location fee and device fee shall be the following:
    1. Except as specified in subdivision (j) below, a business location fee of one hundred dollars ($100) per business location, plus the applicable device fee listed in subdivisions (b) to (i), inclusive.
    2. For marinas, mobile home parks, recreational vehicle parks, and apartment complexes, where the owner of the marina, park, or complex owns and is responsible for the utility meters, the device fee is ($2) per device per space or apartment. Marinas, mobile home parks, recreational vehicle parks, and apartment complexes for which the above fees are assessed shall be inspected and tested as frequently as required by regulation.
    3. For weighing devices, other than livestock scales, with capacities of 10,000 pounds or greater, the device fee shall be two hundred fifty dollars ($250) per device; for weighing devices, other than livestock scales, with capacities of at least 2,000 pounds but less than 10,000 pounds, the device fee shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) per device.
    4. For livestock scales with capacities of 10,000 pounds or greater, the device fee shall be one hundred fifty dollars ($150) per device; for livestock scales with capacities of at least 2,000 pounds but less than 10,000 pounds, the device fee shall be one hundred dollars ($100) per device.
    5. Farm milk tanks are exempt from registration certificate requirements and all annual registration fees.
    6. A scale or device used in a certified farmers' market, as defined by Section 113745 of the Health and Safety Code, is not required to be registered in the county where the market is conducted, if the scale or device has an unexpired seal for the current year, issued by a licensed California county sealer.  Any resident of Santa Barbara County that brings a scale or device used in a certified farmers' market to a location specified by the office of weights and measures for testing shall be exempt from paying a business location fee for that device.
    7. For liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) meters, truck mounted or stationary, the device fee shall be one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175) per device.
    8. For wholesale and vehicle meters, the device fee shall be twenty-five dollars ($25) per device.
    9. For all other commercial weighing or measuring devices not listed in subdivisions (b) to (h), inclusive, the device fee shall be twenty dollars ($20) per device.  For the purposes of this subdivision, the total annual registration fee shall not exceed the sum of one thousand dollars ($1,000), for each business location.
  2. The annual registration fee for each location with point of sale systems shall consist of a device fee with no location fee and no Department of Food and Agriculture administrative fee. Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 13350, the following device registration fees shall apply except as specified in the Small Business Allowance section below:
    Number of Point of Sale Stations Annual Registration Fee
    1-3 $ 80.00 per location
    4-9 $160.00 per location
    10 or more $240.00 per location

    In addition, a fee for any reinspection as authorized by Business and Professions Code section 13350 shall be billed at the hourly rate for one inspector as set forth above.

    Small Business Allowance. A business that meets all of the following conditions may remit one-half (forty dollars) the annual registration fee specified above:

    1. The business has a single sales location in the county that has 1-3 point of sale stations;
    2. The business has gross sales in the amount of $200,000.00 or less for the latest year; and
    3. The business verifies the qualifying gross sales by including a signed copy of their latest Internal Revenue Service tax filing for the qualifying business with their reduced payment.

  3. As authorized by Business and Professions Code section 12240, the annual registration fee for a packer shall be as follows:
    Number of Packages per Year Annual Registration Fee
    Less than 10,000 Exempt
    10,000 or more $240.00
  4. As authorized by Business and Professions Code section 12241, and set forth in 4 CCR §4075, the California Department of Food and Agriculture administrative fee shall be as follows:
    Commercial Device Type Fee per Device
    Electric Sub-meter
    Vapor Sub-meter
    Water Sub-meter
    $0.10
    CNG Meter
    Fabric, Cordage, Wire Meter
    Grease and Lube Meter
    Odometer
    Retail Motor Fuel Dispenser
    Retail Meter
    Retail Water Meter
    Tank (Liquid Test)
    Taximeter
    Vehicle Meter
    Wholesale Meter
    Miscellaneous Measuring Device
    Scales with less than 2,000 pounds capacity
    $1.10
    Liquefied Gas Meter
    Scales with 2,000 pounds to 10,000 pounds capacity
    $8.00
    Scales with greater than 10,000 pounds capacity $12 .00

The CDFA administrative fees set forth above are subject to adoption and subsequent amendment by the California Department of Food and Agriculture, and, as required by law, shall be collected by the County office of weights and measures in the manner specified in 4 CCR §4075.